The Middle

Those of you who follow me on Facebook know that this past week or so I’ve been struggling with the middle of my book. I tend to encounter this problem every time I sit down to write. I always have a quick beginning, flying through introduction of characters, the colorful description of scenery and on to the plot to keep the reader interested. But then I come to the dreaded moment. The middle.

I am one of those writers who knows the beginning and ending of their book before they start writing, but it’s the middle that always gets to me. Believe it or not the middle is quite possibly the most important part of the book, because that’s where you could lose you reader. Some people probably think the most important part is a great ending or a startling, intriguing beginning. While those moments are very important, keeping your reader interested through the middle of the book is what, I believe, determines a good rating.

As a reader, I know that without a good middle, the rating I give a novel may or may not go down. This past week I had moments when I just sat in front of the my computer, staring at that blank page and wondering what I could do to keep the story flowing smoothly. I didn’t write one word. It’s not easy (which is why I am thankful for editing and rewrites afterwards) but I finally managed to break through. That is not at all easy for me, especially since I know there are choppy moments that are calling me, begging me to come back and fix them. But getting passed the middle and on to the ending that has been in my mind for months is the best feeling in the world. As it always is when I finally write ‘The End’.

There is no better feeling in the world than writing those words. Even though it’s not really the end, and I don’t just mean those rewrites! This is story is far from over and I can’t wait to share it with you in the (hopefully) not too distant future!

Leave a Reply

