To Walk in Sunlight

Dawn Montgomery thought that sunlight protected them from the vampires that ruled over her city. But she had never been so wrong in her whole life. A new breed of vampire has risen up from the shadows and revealed itself…under the light of the sun. Now Dawn finds herself thrown from her position as vampire delegate, the new vampire overlord, Victor Valentine, who she loves tells her that they cannot be together and the Day Walker vampire, Sin, will do everything in his power to get his hands on one person…Dawn herself.

Blood-Kissed Sky by J.A. London was nothing like I thought it would be! With riveting action, passionate romance and heart-stopping revelations, the authors weaved a vampire book like no other!

We return to Denver in this book where the story picks up right where the first book left off. Only now, there is barely time to think. This new breed of vampire is swiftly making his intentions to take over the world known and something else, far worse than just a few vicious vampires out to kill humans is lurking in the distance, coming closer. Vampires who are infected with the Thirst (vampires who feed off other vampires) are getting closer and closer to Denver. Only Dawn and Victor are not going to give up. Dawn and her boss always has a plan and since Victor refuses to see her ever since her blood saved his life, she decides that the only thing she can do to help stop the impending fall of her city is follow orders and go to Los Angeles to discover how the humans there have managed to survive without giving blood to their vampire overlord and where the sickness of the Thirst began.

I never thought I’d be giving this book 5 stars. After reading the first one, I figured this one would be the same. A solid 4 star book. So you can imagine my surprise when I started reading this book and was completely enthralled. It was so much better than the first one! I found myself truly falling in love with the characters (even though I didn’t really feel connected to them in the first book), and the story just got better and better. And the ending! Oh my. I had my suspicions, but I didn’t think I could be right. This is definitely going to make for a very interesting third and final book!

The vampire side of the book was still very different from what I’m used to. But there weren’t as many ‘blood-sucking’ moments in this book as there were in the first one, which made it better. Maybe that’s why I liked this second book more. Victor and Dawn’s connection throughout the book, even when their miles apart, made for a captivating mystery. Their love story was sweet and gentle and only got a little bit steamy in once scene. The author seemed to keep this book moving and a steadier pace than the first one, which was nice. The characters developed more and gave me a sense of actually knowing them, which I didn’t get from the first book. I felt much more connected to them in Blood-Kissed Sky and discovered, about halfway through, that I was racing to get to the end and find out what happens.

So, reading Darkness Before Dawn is definitely essential as if you go into Blood-Kissed Sky without reading the first book you will be completely lost in several points. But, for me, the second book was the better story and I hope that’s a sign that the third, and final, book is going to be simply epic. 🙂

Blood-Kissed-Sky

Coming Soon: She’s out to avenge her brother’s death…he’s desperate to save his family from the plague…when they finally meet, will June and Day discover that they should actually be on the same side? Look for my review of Legend, by Marie Lu, soon!!

Leave a Reply

