Twilight

So, after a very long absence, I am back! I bring with me many new books that I have read over the past two years, not to mention many regrets for letting my blog fall by the wayside. 😦 But, rest assured, this is the first of many reviews to pop up on By the Book in the coming weeks! I thought I’d begin again with a book that some of you may not have expected me to read…Twilight, by Stephenie Meyer!

Vampires, werewolves, a girl from Arizona…yep, I loved it! 😉 Not many people I know would think that I would, in fact a lot of people I know have judged these books without ever reading them or watching the movies. That was something I promised myself I wouldn’t do and, as it turned out, they weren’t anything like what people were telling me. At least, not to me they weren’t.

Twilight opens with Bella Swan, an uncoordinated, fair-skinned and quiet girl from Phoenix, Arizona who moves to Forks, Washington to live with her father. When she first arrives, Forks is exactly as she remembered it. It’s small, it’s wet and it’s dark. There’s nothing exciting about Forks, but Bella is determined to make the best of things so that her mom can enjoy time with her new husband. Bella doesn’t realize that she’s about to witness the impossible. That the adventures from books are about to become all too real for her. This all arrives in the form of Edward Cullen, the mysterious foster kid of Carlisle and Esme Cullen. Bella knows that there’s something different about the Cullens immediately, from their golden brown eyes to their white as death complexion. It doesn’t take Bella long to figure out exactly what Edward and his family are…vampires.

When I first started reading Twilight I had no idea what I would think about it. Vampires…usually not my cup of tea. 😉 I had heard so many different opinions from friends and family, and had read so many different reviews (for instance ‘This book is horrible, such a waste of my time’ or ‘This book is AMAZING, I absolutely LOVED it!’)that I decided it was about time I decide for myself and picked up the books. From the moment I started, I realized I wouldn’t be able to stop. The quality of the writing was one of the first things that captured me.

Whenever I read a book that is written in the first person, I almost always cringe and give up on it before I’m done. There’s just nothing there for me when the book is being told by one person, in one perspective, throughout the whole thing. And with a book as long as this one…I thought it might be a lost cause from the beginning. But how wrong I was! I couldn’t believe how beautifully written it was. Stephenie Meyer has a talent for writing in the first person that I have rarely seen before. She drew me in and held me there, her descriptions written nearly to perfection and the emotions deeply, and realistically expressed (speaking from experience as a clumsy seventeen year old girl a few years ago, I definitely related to Bella a few times 😉 ).

Now, let’s talk about vampires. 😉 I knew that was where it was leading, I had known that was where it would go before I even started the book. However, like I said above, I knew I needed to decide for myself about it. Surprisingly, there was nothing really sadistic about these vampires. I liked Edward’s character very much, I liked how he knew what he was and did his best to do good, not evil. Yes, drinking animal blood is almost as gross as drinking human blood…but that’s as far as I will go with that. I liked how there was really no true focus on the ‘sucking blood’ bit that usually comes with vampire stories. And aside from Edward, I think Carlisle and Rosalie were my two other (heehee) favorite vampires. 😛 The reason for that: Carlisle and Rosalie were both emphasized in the book as the ones who most value human life. Rosalie, jealous of Bella because she is still human, something Rosalie wished she was and Carlisle, turned into a vampire against his will but (after attempts to kill himself because he didn’t want to live as a demon)taught himself how to live among people without hurting them and suppress the desires of a vampire. In doing so, he pursued a career as a doctor and now saves lives instead of taking them. Stephenie Meyer’s take on vampires was not only unique, but very intriguing. Bella’s view of Edward was also interesting. While Edward looked at himself as a monster without a soul, someone who would only bring Bella harm, Bella in turn saw the good in him, the parts of his humanity that still existed inside him and that would do anything to keep her alive.

So yes, I truly and thoroughly enjoyed Twilight and not just because it was a story that pulled me in and kept me reading until the last page, but because of the quality of the writing. I needed a change from the same old same old, and I definitely found it here. I enjoyed the characters, the setting and the story, all told through the eyes of a girl who falls hopelessly in love with a vampire. I look forward to sharing my reviews of the rest of these books soon.

twilight

Coming Soon: The love of her life leaves her behind…her best friend turns on her…heart and soul broken, will Bella still run away to save the life of the boy who deserted her? Look for my review of New Moon by Stephenie Meyer, soon!!

Leave a Reply

